Site Search

CEO's Message

Thursday 30 July 2020
New data confirms Albury Wodonga’s economy is taking a heavy hit from the latest tighter border controls and in response Council is working closely with governments and industry on a proposal to ease the pressure while also minimising the risk of COVID-19 spreading.

Have your say on waterside improvements

As part of a review of our Murray River Experience master plan, we’re seeking your feedback about what we’re doing well at our waterside spaces, and what we could do better.

To provide that information, please visit our have a say page to share your thoughts.

We’re keen to know which areas you visit and what draws you to those places so we can plan infrastructure and other improvements to make your river or lake experience even more rewarding.

You can take part by either using our interactive map or taking the associated short survey. This will help us to determine exactly what’s needed now and what we might add in future.

The study area takes in a sweep of the Murray River from the Wonga Wetlands to the weir wall and from there, along the Lake Hume foreshore to Bowna Reserve – so it’s not only a large area, it also takes in parks, reserves and attractions that help to make our city such a great place to live.

It’s part of the bigger picture in our Murray River Experience plan, which aims to revolutionise the way we all enjoy our river and interact with our beautiful natural environment.

There are some exciting new components in that plan that are already taking shape.

For example, a milestone will soon be reached in the construction of 12 kilometres of new walking and cycling trails at Wonga, with design work now taking place on new bridges to carry walkers and riders into spectacular new areas of our beautiful riverside country to our west.

When those bridges are installed and the extension is opened, we’ll have a riverside paradise for cyclists, walkers, photographers and nature lovers in a beautiful environment that’s right on our doorstep. Not only will it open up new areas along the Murray for locals to get fit, have fun, or simply enjoy the sights and sounds of our spectacular riverside, it will also create a tourist attraction that will draw visitors from around the country and overseas.

But of course, that’s only part of the larger MRE experience.

We’ll soon open our brand new community ovens at Hovell Tree Park, creating an even better space for families and community groups to meet and eat right on the banks of the Murray, within a stone’s throw of the city centre.

We’re also excited to be progressing major plans for our Riverside Precinct development, near the ovens and adjacent to the Albury Swim Centre.

With a boardwalk, rivercraft access and picnic facilities, this precinct will be one of the jewels in our Murray-side crown. With links to the CBD and neighbouring riverside parks, the precinct will become an icon of Albury – and as we continue to work with our partners in Wodonga, all of this will eventually connect to an even greater network of parks, trails and services on both sides of the river.

The Murray is central to what defines us as a community and as both border cities continue to grow and thrive, our Murray River Experience will make Albury Wodonga an even better place to live, work and invest.

Of course, it’s been a community-wide effort to turn our riverside dream into a reality and we’re very grateful to all of the stakeholders who’ve helped to refine the plan to achieve the best possible vision for our future.

In the past, we’ve had some fantastic community feedback on how this vision should be achieved so please do help shape the next stages of the plan by having your say in our review.

By continuing to work together, our Murray River Experience will become even greater, and future generations will enjoy the very best of the experience that our remarkable waterside attractions can provide.


Thursday 27 August 2020
Road map to our digital future
Thursday 13 August 2020
Consultation starts on Regional Deal
Thursday 30 July 2020
Council works to ease border burden
Thursday 16 July 2020
Landmark agreement for future
Thursday 2 July 2020
Budget to help drive recovery
Thursday 18 June 2020
Report offers hope for tourism recovery
Thursday 4 June 2020
Council, community partnership pays off
Thursday 21 May 2020
Good signs for recovery
Thursday 7 May 2020
Have your say on our Draft Budget
Thursday 30 April 2020
Our Draft Budget 2020-21
Thursday 23 April 2020
Our people at work
Thursday 9 April 2020
Working towards recovery
Thursday 26 March 2020
Safety is our top priority
Thursday 12 March 2020
Upstream defines cross-border cooperation
Thursday 27 February 2020
Help plan future of education precinct
Thursday 13 February 2020
Important step for Thurgoona's future
Thursday 30 January 2020
New look for Wagga Road as Stage 2 starts
Thursday 19 December 2019
Our year in review
Thursday 5 December 2019
Our 2018-19 Annual Report
Thursday 21 November 2019
Strategy addresses planned growth
Thursday 7 November 2019
Lots of lots to drive demand
Thursday 7 November 2019
On the road to growth
Tuesday 8 October 2019
Being water wise
Thursday 26 September 2019
Milestone reached in management restructure
Thursday 12 September 2019
Time to get growing on new event
Thursday 29 August 2019
Community joins journey into future
Thursday 15 August 2019
New leadership model looks to future
Thursday 1 August 2019
Progress powers ahead in 2C1C agreement
Thursday 18 July 2019
Technology lights the way
Thursday 4 July 2019
New era at AlburyCity
Thursday 20 June 2019
Councils, community join forces for the environment
Thursday 6 June 2019
Smart bins a new step in technology journey
Thursday 23 May 2019
New leadership structure to deliver for city
Thursday 9 May 2019
Have your say on draft budget
Never miss an update
account_circle
mail_outline
* We'll never share your email with third parties