Site Search

New AlburyCity Youth Council inducted

Wednesday 29 March 2023

A passionate group of young people were inducted into the AlburyCity Youth Council at the first meeting of the year yesterday afternoon.

The self-nominated Council is made up of youth 12-24 years, who are responsible for representing and advocating for young people in our community, building awareness and educating the wider community on youth related issues and making responsible decisions on behalf of young people.

They will also assist AlburyCity to develop plans and strategies that make sure young peoples' views are considered in decision-making processes.

AlburyCity Deputy Mayor Steve Bowen and Councillor Jessica Kellahan attended the meeting and congratulated the new Youth Councillors.

“Congratulations to the strong group of new Youth Councillors who have put their hands up to serve the Albury community, creating a platform for the youth of this region to have a voice," said Deputy Mayor Bowen.

"The Youth Council is a platform for young people to share their ideas and vision for the future of Albury. I am confident that over the next 12 months we will see positive community engagement and hear representation from our Youth Councillors that will have a profound impact on the community, amplifying what matters to young people in Albury," said Cr Kellahan.

The 2023 Youth Council members include:

  • Alexander Parsons
  • Brodie Taylor
  • Chloe Hall
  • Grace Alexander
  • Grace Doherty
  • Kabir Shah
  • Oliver Baitch
  • Paige Gawen
  • Ram Kugathasan
  • Rhemi Taylor
  • Sarah Worthington
  • Siddharth John
  • Sophie Lawrence
  • Luke Richardson

Find out more about Youth Council on the AlburyCity website.