Site Search

Pods of Play

Experience a playful program of fun at the new Dean Street Parklet.

Throughout July to October, the ‘Pods of Play’ will come alive with a range of creative, sensory and interactive activities. From craft workshops and storytimes, to chess and chamber music – there’s something for everyone!

Make a date to meet up with friends or stop by at the play space while you grab your lunch and shopping in the city.

All activities are FREE and suitable for all ages. No bookings required.

July

Thursday 14 July – Interactive Percussion Jam (11am – 2pm)

Join the rhythm fun in this community hand-drumming session! All musical instruments provided.

Friday 15 July – Origami Art Workshop (11am – 2pm)

Fold the day away and learn to create colourful origami creations! All materials provided.

Saturday 16 July – Cartoon Caricatures (11am – 2pm)

Ever wondered what you would look like as a cartoon? Stop by at the Parklet to have your cartoon portrait drawn.

Saturday 23 July – Jewellery Making (11am – 2pm)

Bracelets, brooches, earrings and more! Create one-of-a-kind accessories with colourful and unique beads. All materials provided.

Sunday 24 July – Street Chess (11am – 2pm)

Bring a mate or verse a stranger. All skill levels welcome. Chess boards provided.

Friday 29 July – Melodica Music Performance (11am – 2pm)

Enjoy the groovy tunes of a melodica! You may find yourself humming, dancing or clapping along to your favourite songs.

August

Thursday 4 August – Parklet Storytime (2pm – 3pm)

Enjoy all the fun of a great story, including songs, rhymes and a craft. Suitable for ages 5 and below.

Saturday 13 August – Live Music Performance (11am – 12.30pm)

Unwind in the Parklet to a sensational acoustic soundscape.

Saturday 27 August – Medieval Crafts (11am – 2pm)

Take a step back in time and experience a glimpse of life in the Middle Ages!

September

Thursday 1 September – Parklet Storytime (2pm – 3pm)

Enjoy all the fun of a great story, including songs, rhymes and a craft. Suitable for ages 5 and below.

Saturday 10 September – Chamber Music Concerts (12pm – 2pm | 20-minute concerts)

Immerse in spectacular classical music by acclaimed violinist Kaori Sparks and fellow strings virtuosos. This evocative musical experience is not to be missed!

Saturday 24 September – Secret Activity (11am – 2pm)

Stay tuned to find out what fun activity will be popping up in the Parklet.

Tuesday 27 September – Fun and Games (11am – 2pm)

Need a remedy for school holiday boredom? Come along to the Parklet for a range of fun and games.

Thursday 29 September – Secret Activity (11am – 2pm)

October

Saturday 1 October – Secret Activity (11am – 2pm)

Wednesday 5 October – Creative Workshop (11am – 2pm)

Enjoy a connective and reflective art activity. All materials provided.

When
July - October, 2022
Where
Dean Street Parklet
Price
Free