Cr Alice Glachan honoured

24 October 2014

Cr Alice Glachan has been honoured at an Awards Ceremony in Coffs Harbour and awarded the honorary title of Emeritus Mayor, recognising her four terms as mayor during her time on Albury Council.

Cr Peter Routley (Urana Shire Council); Cr Greg Piper (Lake Macquarie City Council); Cr Alice Glachan (Albury City Council) and Cr Des Manwaring (Lachlan Shire Council) were awarded the honorary title of Emeritus Mayor for serving a minimum of three one-year terms as mayor.

Outstanding Service Awards, which recognise councillors with more than 20 years of service to Local Government were proudly received by Cr Russell Webb (Tamworth Regional Council); Cr Phillip Betts (Tamworth Regional Council); Cr Betty Murphy (Central Murray County Council) and Cr John Medcalf (Lachlan Shire Council) as well as Cr Des Manwaring and Cr Greg Piper (also awarded Emeritus Mayor titles).

President of Local Government NSW, Cr Keith Rhoades AFSM, said these Awards are vital in highlighting the steadfast dedication and leadership that mayors and councillors offer their local communities.

"Local Government is facing unprecedented reform, which only reaffirms the importance of recognising the role of mayors and councillors in providing sound leadership in times of change.

"Being a councillor is a complex and challenging role. The passion and vision that these award recipients have shown during their tenures in Local Government is motivational.

"Given the final report from the Independent Local Government Review Panel addressed the important role of mayors and the need to ensure their professional skills are continually developed and supported, Awards such as these are another way to encourage hard work and commitment from our elected representatives."